Students should pay the full cost for their own study, because university education benefits individuals rather than society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people argue that college attendees have to take responsibility for their tuition fee, because only them derive benefit from higher education and society has no advantages at all. From my perspective, I strongly disapprove of this argument and the reasons will be elaborated on this essay.

Firstly, there are numerous specialized jobs lacking them that could bring the world to the brink of extinction such as doctor, researcher, lawyer who need long-term education. For instance, a doctor needs around 10 years of studying and passing numerous stressful examinations to get a practicing certificate. This fact seems impossible for learners to pay their full tuition cost if their family cannot support the financial problems, which prevents low-income students from pursuing highly qualifìed jobs and makes the gap between rich and poor bigger. Therefore, the government should have appropriate policies such as scholarships or loans with low rates to support talented students, especially those from poor families.

Secondly, tertiary education raises not only academic knowledge but also awareness of attendees. To be more specific, all Vietnamese students have to enroll in “The foundation of Law in Vietnam” course so learners have a basic knowledge about the legislation, which could help reduce the proportion of crime. Beside that, people could easily get well paid jobs with higher degrees in today's world. This means the investment of the government poured into education will be returned by tax income of employees.

For the reasons mentioned above, I believe that students should be helped with financial aid while studying at university as bringing the opportunity of receiving equal higher education for all classes in society and remaining the future income for the government via tax.