Students today can easily access information online, so libraries are no longer necessary. Do you agree or disagree?

With the development of the Internet, it is easy for students to access information online. While it can not be denied that the Internet makes it easier to reach knowledge online than by traditional ways, personally I would argue that it can not replace the importance of libraries.

To begin, it is true that the advantages of the Internet in finding information overtake that of libraries. Firstly, the Internet allows learners to access information anywhere at anytime. For example with only a smartphone, students can learn anything online from courses on Coursera or tutorial videos on YouTube at their home or in the parks. Moreover, searching information on the Internet is faster than finding the same information in libraries. For instance, with search engines such as Google or Microsoft Edge, learners can easily find particular information in seconds while it might take them hours to find that information in libraries.

At the same time, libraries are still necessary for students. Firstly, libraries provide credible resources which are reviewed and approved by experts in their field. If there were no any libraries, it would be difficult for learners to find reliable resources on the Internet. Secondly, libraries provide students with quite and suitable workplace for learning. Therefore, students can concentrate on their learning and be motivated by studying atmosphere that libraries create. In addition, libraries provide free access to some sources such as rare books, research articles that usually require fee online. This can reduce the financial burden for students while pursuing knowledge.

In conclusion, while the Internet can help students to access knowledge in convenient and fast ways, personally I believe that it could not replace the importance of libraries.