Studies suggest that many teenagers these days prefer socialising online to meeting one another in person.

Why do you think this is the case?

What measures could be taken to encourage teenagers to spend more time meeting one another in person?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

According to recent studies,teenagers are reported to become less sociable than they were in the past. Most of them are now enjoying meeting new friends and participating in online forums rather than having face-to-face meeting with each other. From my perspective, the unimaginable development of the Internet is the main culprit and to address this phenomenom properly, more appealing incentives should be created by schools and society.

As far as the principal cause is concerned, the Internet and appearances of new social apps are to blame for this tendency. As a growing number of people are gaining access to social media everyday, it advertently creates a huge cyperspace for both teenagers and adults to expand their social circle with different Internet users in the world. Consequently, they no longer have to take part in outdoor activities to make new friends. By the same token, a large proportion of teenagers have also developed a new phenomenon termed " social anxiety", which means they dread the thought of meeting too many people and of course, a fear of standing in pulic. In addition, while the young people in real world frequently judge each other's looks and manner, they can go anononymous completely in the cyperspace without having to worry about their appearance.

Nevertheless, there are some viable solutions that can help teenagers to become more open and extrovert. Firstly, education experts should provide students woith more talks about the benefits and drawbacks of social media as well as instructing to speak their mind to integrate well into the society.Moreover, more fascinating activities that are suitable for youngsters such as camping or volunteering can more or less steer them out of the phone screen. Last not but least, social demands on teenagers should be adjusted properly since today's adolescene often feel anxious and diffident living up to their parents and the society's expectation.

In conclusion, although the Internet has connected each person closer to one another, it inadvertently extends the distance between teenagers and the real world. Therefore, young people should be given more attention and affection from their society so that they can confidently step out of their comfort zones.