Studies suggest that many teenagers these days prefer socialising online to meeting one another in person. Why do you think this is the case ? What measures could be taken to encourage teenagers to spend more time meeting one another in person?

Thanks to the advancement of technology, people can communicate with each other from distance via online platforms. This method has been favorably used nowadays by teenagers, which is understandable due to some certain reasons. To motivate young people to have more face-to-face meetings, schools and parents can take some actions proposed in this essay.

The convenience and fun created by online social networks has tremendously attracted youngsters. Firstly, chatting online can help teenagers, whose allowance may be limited, save time and money. More specifically, they would not need to travel a long journey to meet up with their peers or squander their pocket money on a drink outside. Secondly, numerous interesting applications on social platforms seem to let teenagers express themselves better. For example, emojis or GIFs are the two popular functions of messenger, an online chatting app, that allow users to use specific icons or images to demonstrate their feelings accordingly. These usages can be of great importance for children at puberty stage as they may normally find it difficult to show their emotions in front of others.

However, it is vital for teenagers to have real communicative skills with face-to-face meetings, and schools as well as families can encourage their children to do this by some methods. Teachers can make space for more teamwork during class and after school so as to bring the students together. For instance, a project where pupils have to assemble a model or draw a map, and then give a presentation about it would definitely require the cooperation of learners in real meetings. Parents may also play an important role in supporting their offspring to participate in sport activities so that they would interact with their peers during play time without having their eyes glued to the screen.

In conclusion, teenagers are appealed to online socializing due to the convenient functions of the online platforms. Nevertheless, there are ways that adults can encourage youngsters to meet each other in real life.