Studies suggest that many teenagers these days prefer socialising online to meeting one another in person.

Why do you think this is the case?

What measures could be taken to encourage teenagers to spend more time meeting one another in person?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should spend about 40 minutes on this tas

In this day and age, it is proved by some studies that teenagers have a preference on online socialisation instead of face-to-face meetings. This reality is catalysed by some reasons and it can also be changed by particular measures.

The first reason bringing teenagers closer to socialise through the Internet is its ability to connect with people far from you without leaving your place to arrive there. For instance, with wireless networks and social media, a Vietnamese person can effortlessly keep in touch with his or her friend on the other side of the Earth, such as a friend in the US or Canada, through video calls and messages. The second attraction of online socialisation is the opportunity to overcome the fear of communication. Some teenagers, especially introverts, tend to be quiet in a face-to-face meeting due to the fact that they are worried about saying something wrong or they cannot think fast enough to respond immediately and continue the conversation. All these fears can be easily solved with texting applications like Messenger, Telegram or even Instagram.

Nevertheless, there are still ways to enhance the amount of time teenagers spend on meeting one another in person for people who find socialising online not as good as the others say. Firstly, it is believed that teenage girls and boys should join more extracurricular activities instead of staying home, lying on the bed and using phones, laptops, tablets, etc.... all day. To participate in real life activities brings them the ability to either broaden their horizon or develop their relationships. Some new relationships created through these activities can teach people that not all your friends are able to be online to wait for your messages or calls. Secondly, teenagers should learn that socialising online can also be risky. Online crimes and identity thieves are no longer strange notions. Without the right guide, people can be a sweet food for criminals when they trust those bad guys as their soulmates.

In conclusion, online socialising is a modern method of communication that we cannot deny its effects and benefits. However, we should also remain meeting people in person.