Studies suggest that many teenagers these days prefer socialising online to meeting one another in person.

Why do you think this is the case?

What measures could be taken to encourage teenagers to spend more time meeting one another in person?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, more and more teenagers tend to choose online plarforms as their way to communicate while the traditional face-to-face interaction is being forgotten, which leads to several drawbacks.

It cannot be denied that thanks to the advanced technology these days, people can connect with others effortlessly through the internet despite time and distance. Students studying abroad, for instance, can have the access to contact their friends and parents in their hometown with little to none cost, as long as they are connected online. Also, with the domination of a variety of social media platforms nowadays, adolescents receive more opportunities to either chat with their friends online or express themselves on social network, such as Facebook and Instagram. The usefulness of online network during the global pandemic at the moment is another example of such advantages the internet can bring. Not only it allows adults to have the accessible way to work from home, but also students can benefit as online classes are arranged to ensure students learning progress at school. However, millenials and gen-Z generations tend to overuse the internet and underestimate the drawbacks of doing so, which leads to numerous issues that need to be dealt with.

In order to balance teenagers' online and offline social life, parents play an important role in educating their children to experience the real world outdoor by meeting new people and spending time one relatives and friends outside. Also, governments should consider investing on structuring playgrounds or events for the youth in order to attract them to step out of their artificial world and interact with real life people. For example, in Vietnam, more and more walking streets are being built to bring people together thanks to their creativity in terms of creating activities for others to join. The results they have brought are surprisingly beneficial. Despite a huge amount of time and money needed for the project, it can bring numerous advantages to teenagers and later generations.

To conclude, balancing between interacting outdoor and connecting with people through online platforms is needed for adolescents in order to obtain decent productivity with high performance.