Studies suggest that many teenagers these days prefer socializing online to meeting one another in person. Why do you think this is the case? What measures could be taken to encourage teenagers to spend more time meeting one another in person?

The advances in communicative technology enable teenagers to keep in touch and update on their favorite affairs through the cyber world and less in face to face contexts. In this essay I will provide the reasons for this social phenomenon and the remedy for it.

To begin with, there are compelling reasons behind why youngsters prefer virtual socialization. First, it goes without saying that modern communicative technology allows greater convenience. Thanks to social working sites, the Internet, and smart devices, young people can communicate and socialize in the comfort of their own home without having to change and go out to meet their acquaintances in a physical place. In addition, the virtual world offers them opportunities to meet new people on an ever wider contexts. Second, time is undoubtedly a driving force behind this trend among teenagers. Obviously, it is unnecessary for them to wait until a certain time to have conversation with their peers but they can have a conversation virtually 24/7.

This, however, can be alleviated by educating teenagers and provide them alternative activities to do. On the one hand, parents and schools are responsible for bringing to their teenage children's attention the dire menace of lacking in person contact such as weak personal health and interpersonal skills. Should they are convinced of such detrimental effects of online socializing, they may want to stop. On the other hand, alternative activities ought to be provided to them to help them spend less time on the cyber environment. For example, public exercise and sport facilities developed by the government like a basketball court can provide teenagers a place for having fun and working on improving their general health, and increase the chance of them interact with their peers in person.

In summary, while more and more teenagers are keen on socializing on the Internet, effective education from the parents and schools' part in combination with the government's provision of athletic amenities may contribute to battling this problematic phenomenon.