Studies suggested that nowadays children watch much more television than they did in the past and spend less time on active or creative things. What are the reasons? And what measures should be taken to encourage children to spend more time on active or creative things?

It is believed that in modern era, children spend more time on television than creative activities. This essay will present some reasons and propose feasible measures to resolve the issue.

Firstly, when living in the modern society with severe competitions in job market, parents are likely to allocate more time in their offices than stay at home to make their livings. Therefore, they have insufficient time to take care of their children as well as joining some outside and creative activities with their children. As a result, children watch TV as a form of recreation. According to a prestige magazine, children watch TV more than 21.8 hours a week when they are waiting for their parents. Secondly, it is irrefutable that children are likely to be captured by vivid and colorful animations on TV programs so that they are unable to take their off some attractive programs such as Walt Disney, Cartoon Network.

There are a wide range of resolutions to tackle this problem. First of all, parents are encouraged to take part in outdoor or creative activities with their children rather than pay attention to their work. For example, in Vietnam, parents often take their children to parks to engage some creative activities such as painting, cooking. By virtue of engaging outdoor activities, children are able to have more passion with creative games than spend their time to television. Secondly, it would be beneficial for children when amount of time for watching television could be controlled. According to afamily.vn, children age 3 or over are permitted to watch television in two hour per day, and from 2 to 3 years old, it would be better for children to spend one hour per day.

In conclusion, there are a variety of reasons why children watch television than from the past decades and this negative trend could be taken by some aforementioned remedies.