Some people believe that crime is a result of social problems and poverty, others think that crime is a result of bad person’s nature. Discuss both views and give your opinion

There has been a controversy as regards whether committing a crime is attributed by social issues or whether it is a result of innate characteristics. This essay will elaborate some important factors for both argument and I agree that law-breakers are stemmed from external factors more than that of internal factors for the following reasons.

On the one hand, people suppose that personal characteristics decide their life of criminal. Firstly, this could be because citizens who have aggressive behaviors such as animal violence when they were a child easy to become offenders than kind inhabitants. According to a prestige magazine, 99% of serial murderers admit that they image about cruelty to animals before they take life from one person. Secondly, because of their laziness and selfishness, they tend to steal from others to earn money rather than make ends meet. In Vietnam, there are a wide range of burglaries or robberies on a daily basis because of that reasons.

On the other hand, I believe that starvation and social issues are rooted for breaking the law. First of all, people are put in a high pressure on paying taxes or cost of living while they are jobless. According to Vnexpress, more than 70% law-breakers are jobless people. Another striking reason is based on poverty. An illustration for this factor is a story about a prisoner in Quang Nam province, because of his hunger, he stole three cups of rice and three dried fish but unfortunately, he was found so he killed its host. Apparently, when people have no sufficient money to make ends meet, they would be tempted to pursue illegal activities to save their lives.

In conclusion, I support the idea that the fundamental reasons for crime are from social problems and famine.