To succeed in a business, one needs to know maths.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that to be successful in business, people should have a good understanding of mathematics. I completely agree with this sentiment due to the following reasons.

To begin with, mathematics plays an important role in a large number of occupations related to business. Particularly, these days, recruiters often look for a candidate who is proficient in statistics, analysis and other fields included in maths. For example, numerous careers such as sales, business analysis or company directors require knowledge of mathematics. As a result, employees who are good at this field could have more employment opportunities. Meanwhile, spending time on this subject would help people improve other necessary skills at the same time. Some researchers show that people having the ability to solve a maths’ problem are likely to enhance their decision-making or problem-solving skills. Clearly, these skills may give them a great chance to prosper their business.

Despite these benefits, some people still claim that mathematics is not as crucial as others say. They may think this subject is too theoretical to apply in real life. However, I strongly believe that mathematics can be utilised in different practical situations. To be specific, this subject provides people with knowledge about not only numbers and formulas but also fractions, decimals, percentages, statistics or probability. These skills are essential for a businessman to calculate his company’s sales, revenues, expenditure and create strategies for the future. It seems that mathematics is an integral aspect of people's daily work-related tasks.

To sum up, although some people still doubt the importance of mathematics, I am of the view that this subject contributes greatly to occupation’s success since it helps people gain more job chances, improve other interpersonal skills as well as manage their business.