t is a good idea for people to continue working in an old age, if it is possible for them to do so. Do you agree or disagree?

There is a widely held belief that individuals should continue to dedicate themselves to society when they are in old age. From my perspective, I agree that people can work longer past the retirement age if they are capable of pursuing their careers.

To begin with, the idea that people should stop working in their old age is mainly based on the assumption that their feeble health does not allow them to continue working. Therefore, dealing with a heavy workload everyday can negatively affect both physical and mental health. Nonetheless, this line of reasoning is scientifically groundless as working in old age is necessary to improve their health condition. Keeping the elderly employed and active is vital to maintain their well-being instead of them having a sedentary lifestyle at home. In addition, they also have an opportunity to socialize and feel a sense of purpose through communication with colleagues. Furthermore, because of long time dedication, they gain experience in the workplace and have financial independence so they can easily solve problems and create happiness in life.

Another commonly cited argument is that the elderly deserve to retire and receive social welfare because they have put skills and knowledge to the best use for society in their working age. However, this fails to take into consideration their willingness to stay employed. Firstly, a lot of old people have a burning desire and still have a strong passion for their jobs so they may contribute their labor to national and social development. Another reason is that they do not want themselves to become a burden to family and society. For instance, if they decided to stay at home, the financial burden would be placed on younger members of the family and they might have difficulty covering the bills.

To wrap up, although the elderly can stop working in the retirement age or continuing to work also brings advantages to society and themselves. From my point of view, the governments and companies need to take their wishes into account as soon as possible.