It is not necessary to travel to other places to learn the culture of other people. We can learn just as much from books, films and the internet. Do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that traveling to specific destinations is unnecessary because books, films, and the internet enable people to understand the culture of others. While this view has its own justification, I firmly argue that it is better for people to experience cultures directly.

The first explanation is that when going for a trip to places, people can have practical experience which they can not get through books, films or the internet. It means that they can have an opportunity to get exposed to different cultures and indigenous people by their own view. A prime example is that if a person comes to Viet Nam, they can have a chance to make pottery or craftworks by their own hands and evaluate how difficult it is. Meanwhile, seeing cultures through entertainment media only provides people with superficial knowledge and ignores specific information. As a consequence, they will have their own assessments and experiences without relying on others’ subjective standpoints.

Another benefit of traveling directly to places is that people can widen their knowledge about their surroundings to the best of their abilities. It is obvious that some movies, travel books or websites are currently out-of-date which leads to wrong details and controversies about other cultures. For instance, when coming to a nation, visitors can learn what the locals actually wear, how they speak and can eliminate inaccurate assumptions in old books or the internet. Thus, these explicit observations may play an important role in people's education path or research field.

To wrap up, although an ample source of information about cultural diversity can be provided via books, movies or internet access, I highly recommend that if people want to know firmly about a culture, taking a trip to that destination is the best way.