Task 2: People have little understanding of the importance of the natural world. What are the reasons for this, and how can people learn more about the natural world?

Recently, it is true that many people have overlooked the paramount importance of the natural world. While there are several contributory factors that can lead to this lack of knowledge, there are still many measurements that can be employed to improve the understanding of nature among people.

I believe that one of the major reasons behind the lack of appreciation of nature is the disappearance of traditional ways of life. In terms of works, several occupations such as hunting, fishing, or farming are just the livelihoods of a minority of people in agricultural areas. Leading-edge technology has endowed people with more convenient routes to complete their tasks, which means that most people tend to spend most of their working days in a closed environment, such as offices, shops, or factories, regardless of interaction with nature. From the perspective of culture, numerous traditional festivals regarding natural seasons are fallen by the wayside. For example, the celebrations of harvest or spring are now just continued in the hands of the aging populations, while youngsters are increasingly addicted to social networking sites.

However, people can still learn more about nature via different approaches. Firstly, these days, there are many opportunities for participation in nature-related voluntary works, such as planting trees or cleaning streets. Secondly, educational institutions can provide their students with more extra-curricular activities to gain more knowledge related to the environment to raise their awareness of nature conservation. Finally, more documentaries on TV and the internet can be also an effective approach to stimulate the revival of interest in the natural world. They are an excellent means of informing the public about the current life of the planet as well as the need to attenuate the environmental degradation that has ubiquitously appeared in many parts of the world.

In conclusion, although the lack of understanding about nature can be attributed to several reasons, I believe that there are still many ways to impart this knowledge to people.