• Task 2: Some people feel that manufacturers and supermarkets should have the responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging of goods, while others argue that customers should avoid buying goods with a lot of packaging. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is believed that manufacturers and supermarkets should be under obligation to minimise the amount of packaging of goods whereas some argue that customers should take care to buy goods with packaging as little as possible. In my opinion, I am neutral with this argument because each person and business should be responsible for that.

On the one hand, producers and supermarkets must reduce the amount of packaging for some reasons. First, if they implement plans in order to cut down packaging, we will witness a dramatic fall in the amount of packaging all over the world. To be more specific, there are millions of packages utilised in a factory or supermarket so it is very crucial to eliminate this massive source of packaging. The second one is that manufacturers and supermarket owners are able to trigger the amount of packaging decline in a more reasonable way. They can more easily invent an alternative method to secure intact goods for customers instead of wrapping them by packages as there are a lot of scientists and environment consultants who work in businesses.

On the other hand, each buyer should avoid merchandise accompanied with a lot of packaging. First, thanks to the tendency of using goods with the least amount of packaging, customers spread the message ‘no packaging’ to others. Hence, they will be models for people to follow and the awareness of the public will rise in the long run, the important key to solving this problem. Second, people are inclined to use less packaging, which has a great impact on factories. Therefore, companies will redesign their products so that people do not need to use packaging to deliver.

In conclusion, both manufacturers, supermarkets and customers should make efforts to reduce the amount of packaging.