Task 2: Some people think that good health is a basic human need, so the medical service

As a good health plays an important part in human life, some people argue that medical assistance should not be carried out by private hospitals. While I accept that private institutions have some drawbacks, I believe that this is outweighed by benefits.

On the one hand, there are variety of reasons why private healthcare is disadvantageous. First, the cost of treatment is significant high, which is a huge pressure on impoverished families’ budget. If they can not afford to pay for medical service fees such as prescription charges or high- tech machines in the operating theatre, they will not be receiving an adequate treatment, which may put people in life- threatening conditions. A typical example of this is that when people in an emergency situation such as heart attack or traffic accidents, should they be cure well-timed, unless they can meet serious health risks. Second, the likely hood of medical service runned by profit- making companies having inequality is considerably high. Private health care facilities give priorities to those who have money to pay, unlike public hospital which offers equal treatment regardless of whether patients have the money or not. For example, private hospitals offer an immense number of high quality services for women who are during her pregnancy, the more money she pays, the better service she gets.

On the other hand, I support this view that private health care offers the best service and facilities. Firstly, patients can get shorter waiting time. As there are few patients waiting in the line thus, making it easy to receive treatment within the shortest time. Secondly, some private hospitals offer unrestricted visiting hours. This makes it possible for patients’ family to visit the hospital at their convenient time. Finally, private medical services have more privacy, which is necessary for patients in these days. Choosing a private institution, they can access on-demand health care, choose their own doctor and private hospital room. This is particular the case for Vietnamese hospitals, government controlled health care offers hospital room in which from eight to ten sick beds, which is overcrowded and underfunded, whereas private health care offers one to two sick beds per room. This leads to private hospitals are more likely to reduce a lot of pressure on doctors, nursing staff and patients to recover quickly so that more people can be treated.

In conclusion, I would argue that the upsides of private medical service outweighed the downsides.