Studies suggest that many teenagers these days prefer socialising online to meeting one another in person.

Why do you think this is the case?

What measures could be taken to encourage teenagers to spend more time meeting one another in person?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

These days, the shift from face-to-face to online communication has become widespread among young people. While this change can be attributed to numerous factors, I firmly believe that different solutions can be also adopted to promote real communication among the youngsters.

The tendency of online communication between young people can be explained by two primary reasons. Firstly, the modification of feature of urban living, as well as the increase in population density has led to the speculation of high-rise buildings and expansion traffic infrastructure provision. As a results, the availability of playgrounds for young people has been alleviated, discouraging them from participating in outside activities. Secondly, the evolution of electronic media also allows the youngster to keep in touch and communicate with their friends an family more conveniently. Instead of wasting expenditure and time for commuting and transportation, instant communication tend to be regarded as an appropriate approach for the youths to economize, while they are financially struggling with increasing burden from their study or running family homes.

Despite the aforementioned reasons, national and local authorities can impose different measures to encourage young people to spend more time on meeting other in person. Firstly, different policies should be implemented for the regulation of property planning to reduce the building of unnecessary housing stocks or towering sky scrappers to make way for the construction of more free-access playgrounds or entertaining spaces for the youngsters. Secondly, educational institutions should also organize more compulsory extra-curriculum activities to enhance social bonding between each other. These outside activities can be also accompanied with different tasks involving teamwork between, which help the students aware of the paramount importance of being a good team-players. Finally, different campaigns should be also employed to raise the awareness about the consequences stemming from sedentary lifestyles, which can pose a high threat for both physical and mental health of the youngsters.

In conclusion, the change in communication customs among young people in contemporary days can be ascribed to several reasons, I would argue that several measures can be adopted to encourage the youngsters to modify their habits into a more positive aspect.