Task 2: Some universities offer online courses as an alternative to classes delivered on campus. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Thanks to the widespread presence of the Internet, online learning has been a common educational method, which is being considered as a substitute for traditional classes by some universities. However, I am of the opinion that online classes have both positive and negative influences on students.

There is no denying that integrating technology into education brings a variety of merits. It is particularly beneficial for students who live in remote areas as well as do not have the financial capability. With the click of a mouse, students could gain access to any courses and programs regardless of geographical barriers, thereby saving their commuting costs and tuition fees. Also, these courses are designed to adapt to each student’s ability, meaning that this approach can facilitate the learning process because students can learn at their own pace. As a consequence, students can develop an independent studying habit.

Despite the positives of online learning courses mentioned above, there are some certain demerits. One main disadvantage is that this learning feature cannot provide a holistic learning environment that universities can offer. If students study through online learning platforms, they would not have the opportunity to cooperate and exchange ideas with their peers, leading to a lack of practical skills and motivation for competition. Besides, students’ academic performance cannot be guaranteed, not to mention the fact that it can adversely affect the quality of education as some students capitalize on online learning to plagiarise during the examination.

In conclusion, it is clear that online learning methods bring both advantages and disadvantages for university education. From my perspective, although it makes the learning process much easier in some cases, I think it would be better for the universities not to underestimate the importance of traditional learning.