TECHNOLOGY IS RESPONSIBLE FOR UNEMPLOYMENT. TO WHAT EXTENT DO YOU AGREE OR DISAGREE?

Some people believe that modern devices and equipment trigger joblessness. While this may be true to a certain extent, I believe that technological advancements are not to blame for unemployment.

On the one hand, technology may deprive people of their jobs. Machines may possess some advantages over humans in terms of efficiency and accuracy. While people may only work for a specific period of time and they can be distracted by environmental factors, technological devices and equipment can work productively as well as remain concentrated even if they have to operate continuously. In addition, self-learning capabilities have been engineered into technological innovations, which enable them to be more efficient at their tasks. As a result, machines could all the more marginalize human's place in the workforce.

On the other hand, it would be unfair if technology is the sole culprit of unemployment among populations. First, technological progress could help reduce joblessness as it may create new jobs. For instance, a few decades ago, programmers seemed to be non-existent. However, these days, in the light of the blooming of technology, more and more IT workers are required, thus may leading to a decrease in unemployment. Second, insufficient vacancies in firms and factories may also deprive people of their work. The growth in the number of applicants to a job may result in an increased level of competition for that position. As some people may not be able to compete or do not meet companies' requirements, they would be made redundant. Therefore, it is clear that technological advancements do not attribute to joblessness.

In conclusion, it may be true that modern machinery is responsible for unemployment, I am convinced that joblessness is not solely attributable to technological progress.