There are more workers to work from home and more students to study from home. This is because computer technology is more and more easily accessible and cheaper. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

The development of information technology is opening up a new possibility for people to work and study at home instead of going to office or school on a daily basis. From my perspective, students and workers can entirely benefit from this advance.

To begin with, both e-learning and online working offer a great degree of flexibility. Via these platforms, workers will be spared the nine-to-fine rigidity that most white-collar workers are subject to. This enables workers to work at their own pace and unwind at any time, thus relieving them from stress and increasing their productivity. As regards learners, it can be argued that hardly would they lag behind when they miss a lesson due to unprecedented situations, as opposed to those learning in traditional classrooms. This is because lectures or lessons are often recorded in the form of videos with detailed explanations and are always available for a review.

Another advantage of telecommuting and study via e-courses is that it helps companies and schools slash overhead costs, and thus enjoying a rise in quality. There is little need for employers to allocate expenditure for renting premises, equipping furniture or hiring cleaners or maintenance work, and such costs can be saved for enhancing products and services. Similarly, instead of huge amounts of budget for facilities such as tables, chairs or overhead projectors, schools can reinvest in upgrading the educational quality by placing stress on the contents of courses delivered.

In conclusion, although this trend may be accompanied by some drawbacks, I believe that with all benefits mentioned above, the advancement of technology always has more positive impacts on our lives than the negativity.