There are several factors that motivate people to stay in the workforce, and money is the most important reason/factor. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, people are putting increasing emphasis and interest in work motivation. While some people believe that money is the most indispensable factor that helps people to stay in the workforce, others subscribe to the fact that happiness instead of money that will work. Personally, I partly agree with the former opinion and will give my logical reasons in the forthcoming paragraphs.

On the one hand, money is supposed to be the most crucial promotion for people to keep themselves in the workplace as this kind of material can give them a hand in making a living. This is because in the modern world, money is an item that can exchange for almost everything, ranging from clothes, food to health. As a matter of fact, people opt to stay under the pressure of work to earn money on the grounds that they can purchase items they need in life. By way of illustration, evidence from recent research carried out in USA suggests that 70% of both white-collar and blue-collar workers in this country choose to stay in the work environment to earn money by virtue of the reason mentioned above. Through this lens, it is quite obvious that the most significant reason for people to stay under work pressure is money.

On the other hand, those who disagree point out that happiness is the most likely to constitute people's promotion to remain in the workforce since it could make people more optimistic in life. This is due to the fact that the workplace provides people with a lot of sources of joy, such as having some small talks with workmates or having meals with colleagues and communicating with them. As a result, people can feel a sense of relaxation and relief after a lot of pressure that they have encountered from the changing modern society, resulting in a low rate of suicide on account of depression. Research conducted in Thailand in 2019, for example, revealed that 65% of Thai workers commute to the workplace on a daily basis to gain happiness through communication with other colleagues. Hence, it is undeniable that happiness is of great importance to promote people to keep themselves in the work surrounding.

In conclusion, although money and happiness are different in functions, they both succeed in contributing to people's most substantial motivation to remain in the workforce