There are social medical and technical problems associated with the use of mobile phones. What form do they take? Do you agree that the problems outweigh the benefits of mobile phones?

In recent decades, advancements in the field of technology have had various impacts on our society, particularly the development of technical devices such as smartphones. While the benefits we can reap from them are becoming indispensable to our lives, particular social dilemmas associated with our overdependent on them are raising the level of wariness of many people to this problem. In my opinion, however, though the disadvantages they brought might be overwhelming, I believe that the benefits they provide can justify the issue for the following reasons.

First and foremost, it is indeed true that many problems have arisen due to the appearance of electronic devices, for instance, the addicting nature of such objects. Nowadays, people's primary choices for leisure are usually surfing the net or putting on their headphones for video games. However, uncoordinate time usage to such entertainment can lead to a sedentary lifestyle that is unbeneficial to a person's health, both physically and mentally, since they discourage participation in healthier activities. In addition to that, many studies have shown that the wireless signal computers and smartphones create cause substantial damage to the neurological organs of humans. Hence, they increase the chance of various health problems such as obesity, myopia, and amnesia. Additionally, addiction to mobile phones also leads to individualistic behaviors, resulting in communication breakdowns between many people, especially in families. It has become a general burden to parents as they face a predicament, struggling to balance the screen time of their children while they resist, worsening the relationships between family members.

On the opposite end of the spectrum, such achievements have played a pivotal role in the development of civilization. The evolution from a simple cellphone to a modern smartphone has turned it into an irreplaceable assistant to many people's lives. For instance, through its calling and chatting function, it has shortened the time needed and extended the distance of communication considerably, allowing us to connect with others from length up to half a globe. Its effect has shown notably during times of turmoil like the pandemic when entertainment, businesses, and education have depended on it significantly due to the lockdown. Additionally, its hand has extended its reach to fields such as information and medicine. The smartphone has become the gateway to the internet, where its indispensability cannot be any clearer to individuals like students and scientists, whose occupations rely greatly on data. The quick contact it brings allows hospitals to react rapidly to emergencies, and the development of its hardware is also related to the improvement of medical infrastructures. Moreover, it is worth noting that the majority, if not all of the social dilemmas this device is guilty of is usually because of over-usage, which is our problem.

In conclusion, the smartphone has had various impacts on our society. While it is undeniable that its hand has aroused many difficulties in our civilization, its usefulness and its role are undeniable.