There has been a dramatic growth in the number of people studying at universities in the last few decades. While some people see this as a positive trend which raises the general level of education within the community, others fear that it is lowering the quality of education.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of the increase in student numbers at university?

The numbers of people attending higher education saw a significant increase in recent years. While some people think this is a good development, others argue that this causes universities to lose their quality of education.

The worldwide expansion of higher education is a positive trend for people who are involved. This helps people to realise their capacities and gain qualifications to pursue their desired career. University graduates have a chance to find high-paying jobs based on their education. Therefore, they will enjoy a higher quality of life. Furthermore, with more qualified people there will be significant economic growth. Countries such as Japan, where there are many people with degrees, have strong economies with a high standard of living.

However, there are some drawbacks to the growth of tertiary education as well. The increase in the numbers of students led to larger classrooms. This situation is challenging for both teachers and learners. When there are too many people in a classroom, teacher's cannot pay attention to every individual. In some cases, there are students who drop out of school because of this reason. For instance, at my university, we had a problem with overcrowding which caused many students to struggle with their learning. Thus, if higher education institutions cannot find a solution to this issue there will be a significant decrease in their quality of education and they will end up being " degree factories".

In conclusion, the growth in the number of people studying at universities has both positive and negative outcomes. Although this development is an important step in people's lives and should be available to everyone, it lowers the quality of education.