There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

It is widely acknowledged that a great number of young individuals tend to have pressure on how to be successful in academic-based subjects. Therefore, many people state that optional subjects should be removed from school in order to assist children with focusing on their academic majors. In my opinion, I moderately disagree with this statement due to the lack of entertainment and the necessity of life skills that may happen when removing non-academic subjects.

To start with, replacing non-academic subjects with necessary ones will be likely to help students with improving their academic subject results at school. Indeed, by eliminating optional subjects from the school syllabus, children can fully focus on their academic studies and reduce their pressure at school. Moreover, since the young generation does not have to acquire a wide range of knowledge from various subjects, their mentality may become less stressful. Subsequently, they would have a better quality of life. However, there are a number of factors, which should be considered carefully before adopting the given policy.

On the other hand, non-academic subjects at school are created to provide children with an entertaining environment after stressful hours with their academic subjects. An obvious example is physical education. Apparently, during these physical lessons, young people have to do exercises. Undoubtedly, these exercises prevent them from getting diseases such as obesity attributed to their habits of sitting for a long period of time to study both at home and school. Furthermore, non-academic domains also help the young generation gain more crucial skills for their lives after leaving school. For instance, cookery gives individuals recipes to prepare dishes for themselves. Without a doubt, they can become more independent and might not have to purchase food outside.

To sum up, the young generation in recent years are being forced to be successful in academic subjects. As a result, more people think that non-academic subjects ought to be eliminated from the school syllabus to help children to study better in academic subjects. In this essay, I mentioned entertaining and important life skills as factors to disagree with the given opinion. Finally, both academic and non-academic subjects are created to give students useful knowledge, so they would prepare for their future lives after graduating from schools.