There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, it is common for students to cram for academic achievements, which can be extremely stressful. Therefore, it is argued whether non-academic subjects, for instance, physical education and cookery, should be abolished from the didactic programme or not. Personally, I firmly disagree with this opinion due to two main reasons, which will be expounded in this essay.

Chief of these is that non-academic subjects usually have a rather positive impact on students' mental states. Shifting from intellectual lectures to lessons of skills also means a change in surroundings, giving those tired brains a small break between intensive studious periods. For instance, moving from a classroom to a football field for physical education could be a breath of relaxing fresh air for students.

Added to this, these subjects are necessary for children to have an all-rounded development, which help prepare them better for the future. Physical education keep students active and healthy, therefore lower the chances of obesity and heart diseases when they get older. Practical skills are also important as they are needed in daily life. Furthermore, some of those skills such as cookery can be a foundation for a future career. Therefore, if any of the children want to pursue vocational training instead of going to college, they will be well-prepared from a young age.

In conclusion, I believe that non-academic subjects should not be abolish from school. There are two main factors behind my opinion: the positive impact they have on students' mental states and their crucial role in providing an all-rounded education for children.