These days, a great number of children prefer spending time on computer games rather than on sports. Why is it? Is it a positive or negative development?

Throughout the history, entertainment has been playing an important role in daily life, especially video games. Therefore, there is a trend that instead of taking up sport activities, children in modern era tend to invest time and effort into computer games. From the vantage point, together with pointing out the reasons behind this phenomenon, I also believe that this is a downward trend in youngsters’ development, which will be dissected with appropriate rationales.

To commence, children show their enthusiasm towards digital entertainment rather than sports due to some reasons. First, video games require less energy for a child to enjoy, while sports activities are the opposite. It is undeniable that participating in a football match may drain youngsters’ energy, causing them to be tired; however, playing an FPS game for 3 to 4 hours is joyful without being exhausted. Second, according to recent research, video games are designed to be addictive to young people. There are always new items or monthly updates to grab the youngsters’ attention which is a crucial attribute that traditional sports do not have.

To end, this phenomenon has a negative effect on children’ holistic development. In terms of health, playing games for endless hours without doing any exercise can strain the eyes and cause back pain. Besides, if a child devotes their time and effort to digital entertainment, their academic performance will be at risk due to lack of concentration in class. The most adverse impact is that it may degrade several vital skills in life such as time management, communicating or cooperative skills among real life friends.

In conclusion, although children find indulging in the virtual world interesting because of aforementioned rationales, it does significant harm on children life. Therefore, parents and schools need to cooperate to not only control the time spent on video games but also educate their kids or pupils about the importance of sports.