Some people believe that planning for the future is a waste of time because they think that focusing on the present is more important. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the modern era, individuals tend to live with a hectic schedule, making them overwhelmed by endless deadlines. Therefore, some people hold a belief that there is no point in planning for the future while they can invest more time in the present. From the vantage point, I would argue that future plans are also beneficial to personal development and we should combine two methods for a better living.

To commence, putting efforts to achieve goals in the present is really essential for dwellers in many ways. In fact, there is a growing number of people who have a bad habit of putting things off. It is undeniable that planning and taking actions are two different definitions, so that instead of investing time in making a list to do and doing nothing in the end, we should face up to the challenges as soon as possible. It will boost our confidence for upcoming obstacles as well as help us learn relevant experience and knowledge from mistakes.

On the other hand, future plans actually play an important role in becoming a better version of oneself. Each individual has one or several responsibilities in daily life, thus planning list-to-do jobs helps us to control our time and effort by prioritizing and reminding actions to execute. Besides, making plans for the future means we are the only ones who lead our life and no one else can define our limitations. Therefore, this method might turn a passive person into an active one, which contributes to the holistic performance.

In conclusion, while I approve of the idea of focusing more on the present, planning for the future is not a waste of time as it offers numerous merits to people after all. Applying both of the approaches will not only help us improve ourselves but also provide us with the means to push the boundaries.