These days many children spend a lot of time playing video games and many parents feel this is very negative. Do you agree or disagree?

Video games have been around for about 35 to 40 years, and have become an intricate part of our daily lives through phones, computers, and game consoles. However, there has been a growing concern among parents, sociologist, and those in the mental health field that minors are becoming increasingly bombarded by negativity from video games and therefore are a bad influence on children. Overall, this assessment about the horrible impact of games on kids is true, especially when you consider the violence and missing out on real life goals.

As a starting of supporting that video games are a poor influence on young people, we can look at the violence that is taught. In many video games, children can witness or use the main characters to kill others with military weapons, and this is horrible for their psyche because they begin to lose empathy for life. Not only is gun violence a problem, but also the young players can participate in theft and robbery, which they can possibly transfer into a real life similar action. For example, in the news recently a young man robbed a thrift store and when asked why he committed a crime, he claimed that he was inspired by the grand theft auto video game. As a result of gun and theft violence in these games, the proper view is that they are negative for our youth.

Notwithstanding these convincing points related to violence, we can find further support by examining real life goals that are missed due to video games. Not completing homework and a lack of family time participation are the key points that come to mind when discussing video games and real life goals. Clearly, when a child spends 5 to 6 hours after school playing call of duty, he will not complete his homework assignment and in turn likely receive failing school grades. In similar fashion, many studies have shown that video games lead young people to be anti-social towards their family, and as a result parents lose a personal relationship that would allow them to teach family values important for life.

It appears that based on the above referenced explanations related to violence and missing out on life goals, we cannot make any other choice than to fall on the side of video games being negative for kids. As a suggestion, we must reduce child dependency on games for entertainment, or we will possibly lose a generation to this negative influence.