These days many of us prefer to throw damaged things away, whereas in the past people used to repair damaged items and keep them for a long time. Explain why you think this change has happened. What are the effects of this change in attitude?

It is true that nowadays the majority of people tend to discard their old possessions rather than repair them. There are several reasons why this is the case, and I believe that this change has some negative effects on attitude.

On the one hand, there are some reasons why people like to throw damaged things away instead of repairing them. Many manufacturers and advertisers encourage this type of behavior. Companies know that if they want to make a profit, they have to update their products. They do this by either making new technology improvements, in the case of gadgets like phones and computers, or by creating new fashion trends, in the case of items like clothes and perfumes. As a result, there is no incentive for people to repair their old belongings when the new and better ones are available in the market. Also, modern items tend to be difficult to repair, and it is cheaper for individuals to buy the replacement. Additionally, advertisements every day keep people informed of the latest updates and tempt them to buy the new products with some gimmick ads.

On the other hand, this situation can cause some negative impacts on people’s behavior. One of the main negative influences is having a consumerist lifestyle. In such a lifestyle, people all the time tend to discard their old belongings to make room for the new ones. Many packages are placed out of home, which can hurt the environment. Also, by increasing the amount of demand for products, companies are forced to produce more plastic packages that do not decompose in the environment. Additionally, this type of lifestyle can put people under pressure because of the amount of money they have to pay, and all the time, such people have to worry about the deadline of their debts.

In conclusion, in my view, people, under some circumstances, do not like to have their possessions for a long time. This situation can cause people to follow a negative attitude and lifestyle.