These days, writing has become an integral part of people's life. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

These days, pieces of writing people both read and produce play a tremendous role in their lives. I believe that the impacts are mostly positive, though there are some negative sides as well.

On the one hand, writing takes a considerable amount of people's lives. In other words, instead of enjoying life and having a decent pastime, one spends their time reading articles on the interest or creating essays given as a part of homework. For instance, an undergraduate may work on the task given in their university so that they can get the highest grade possible. They continue their research and produce a so-called excellent piece of writing not paying attention to how much time was spent on that.

Nevertheless, it is impossible to imagine one's life without writing. It has been suggested for the last several decades that writing skill is crucial for people in a majority of professions which, in turn, creates a solid ground on the importance of learning. Working with the documentary, writing reports and preparing materials, - all has become a part of one's job. Moreover, tertiary education is considered to be an integral part of the way to success nowadays, and without having decent writing skills, one cannot study in any higher educational institution. As a consequence, individuals without higher education knowledge, experience, and diploma have significantly fewer opportunities to fit desired vacancies. Thus, the importance of writing in the modern era is indisputable.

To conclude, although some negative effects are brought by writing, they are all overshadowed by the benefits it has on people's lives. I am convinced that developing writing skills can lead one to successful career prospects which will definitely help to improve the standards of living.