‘throwaway” society

In this modern age, people tend to dispose of their used items and purchase new ones regardless of their good condition. Various reasons have contributed to this phenomenon, and its impacts on people and the environment should be taken into consideration.

The main culprit of this phenomenon is the mass production of consumer goods thanks to the industrial revolution. People are able to buy products at more affordable prices. As a result, people are less likely to value such items and may easily decide to replace them with new ones before they become unusable. Besides, the constant improvement of products, coupled with the extensive advertisement on various forms of media, are also responsible for this phenomenon. The latest versions are continuously released and advertised as being superior to the old ones. Consequently, customers are tempted or even manipulated into buying them by these deliberately misleading advertisements into buying them.

People living in the this throwaway society could suffer terribly financial trouble. They would find it hard to save money for a rainy day unexpected situations or even be burned with enormous debt if they keep chasing the newest items. People would then suffer some severe mental health conditions such as stress, anxiety or even depression as a result of the heavy consumption. In some worst cases, some might even resort to illegal acts to earn money. Moreover, The throwaway culture also puts intense pressure on the environment. The disposal of items after a short time of use increases the amount of trash dumped into the environment, of among which only a small proportion is treated properly and the rest is either buried or burned. Soil, water and air pollution can all be a result of inappropriate waste disposal. This could also greatly affect the health of the population living nearby the polluted area.

In conclusion, various factors lead to the birth of the throwaway culture, which might have dramatic effects on people and the environment.