violence in films and on television

It is generally believed that the increase in the level of crimes is attributed to the aggressive content in movies and television programs. While the limitation of violent scenes may have certain positive effects on reducing crime rate, I believe that it does not seem to be a feasible option.

On the one hand, the restriction of aggressive content may be effective in preventing audiences from copying violent acts such as kidnapping, robbery or mass murder. In fact, people, especially youngsters, tend to imitate what they see without an awareness of unacceptable behavior in real life. Getting exposed to such content for a long time may lead to becoming familiar with violent acts. Moreover, they may find it acceptable to use cruel behavior to resolve conflicts. Cutting brutal scenes in films or television programs may reduce the opportunities of young children being influenced by bad models, which also reduces crime rate.

On the other hand, controlling the number of violent scenes may negatively affect the film industry. It is not difficult to realize that violence is the key element to attract audiences, particularly in several genres such as action, thriller or thriller movies. Cutting aggressive scenes means losing the appeal of such films, from which sales may severely fall. Moreover, the age restriction prevents young children accessing such films. This option, eventually, may not be sensible. Furthermore, violent crimes may not be rooted in media content but result from a toxic living environment or improper education from parents. Parents should make clear distinctions from what is right and wrong and give clear guidance on how to treat others in different circumstances. These options seem to be more effective in mitigating the level of crimes.

In conclusion, it is certainly that the government should have effective solutions to control the increase in crime rate but not by limiting the number of brutal scenes.