Today almost all levels of education prioritizes theoretical aspects of learning more than practical ones. To what extent do you agree of disagree with this opinion?

It is argued that in almost all levels of education, huge emphasis is laid on teaching theories that are demanded by the curriculum and that an opportunity for students to acquire on-sight practical experience is rare. I completely agree with the above statement. Apart from learning theoretical concepts, teachers are delighted to dictate notes so that students could memorize the same and stop bothering the teacher by asking unnecessary questions. Examinations are regarded as yardstick to measure how well students have understood whatever they were taught by teachers in the classroom.

From my point of view, at all levels of education, rote-learning dominates and that there is no motivation in teaching students beyond textbooks. Much of what is taught at school or at university is nonsense on stilts and politically tendentious and offers a little worth in the marketplace or for the enrichment of mind and soul. On top of that, students are drowned in information but still starving for knowledge and wisdom. Similarly, teachers want to free themselves from the bother of having to explain to kids unnecessary questions which can really be of monumental curiosity to them. This is what they do in order to find a means of escape and will stop short of nothing to evade their queries.

Even though institutions commit that students will be positioned in some organizations to enable them deeper their understanding of their learning at schools or universities, they rarely get a chance to experience as these institutions commitment is mostly confined to lip service. Hands-on education and internships are few and far between. So, the students assimilate only theoretical concepts but fail to understand the practical implications of these concepts that are put too high on an academic pedestal.

To sum up, it is true that all levels of education places high importance on imparting theoretical concepts to students rather than helping them learn the application of these theoretical frameworks in real life. This will not make them necessarily competitive as the labor market has now become competitive and employers are excruciatingly focusing on labor arbitrage.