Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Who should take the responsibility of indoctrinating good behaviors in children? There are a few individuals who state that parents should instill communal values in children while others consider that school should imbue these values in children.

It is certainly true that from the moment of birth, infants are led first by parents. While they spend time with them, they also observe and internalize their values, attitudes and assumptions. However, still, if they do not model the behavior of parents, they can take initiative to help their kids learn the codes of good behavior. They can teach them how they are expected to behave in the society and what implications these behaviors can have in their life. For example: in Japan, almost everyone know how much to bow while greeting which is passed on from generation to generation.

There are other people who assert that school discipline must be a means to teach the children the sense of responsibility as good members of society. It should a means of cultivating habits of regularity, exactitude and system. During their regular studies, the child should be led to discover his moral relations to individuals and to society at large under its social, civic and religious aspects. Likewise, when they go to school, they mingle with friends and teachers from a whole variety of backgrounds which will help them share and learn the value system of the community.

From my point of view, parents, teachers and the members of a society all should be responsible for teaching children how to behave in ways that conform to societal standards. It is not something that can be learned instantly. So, kids will require help from almost all individuals living in the society to be able to understand the core values of the community and to show abidance to it.

To conclude, everyone who knows how communal values should be honored and executed should work to enable kids to demonstrate the societal pedestal. This is a life-long process and the kids will go on perfecting it overtime.