Today different types of robots are being developed which can serve as companions and workers to help at work and at home.

Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, it is not uncommon that different kinds of artificial intelligence are assisting people both in the workplace and at home. Although this trend has some benefits with having more free time and working accurately, I think it is a change for the worse overall.

On the one hand, there are several advantages to advanced robots, one of which is a reduction in human errors. It is clear that AI can significantly reduce errors and increase accuracy and precision at work as it decides based on a certain set of algorithms. Another positive side is that artificial intelligence is of great help to people with doing almost all household chores. This is because now such various robots as vacuum cleaner, washing machine, electronic cook and so on are taking the tasks from people, leaving them more spare time to spend with their children or do other activities they like. For the above-mentioned reasons, robotics are becoming very common in today’s world.

However, this development harms society than it benefits. The first disadvantage is that an increasing number of robots in workplaces can bring about a rise in unemployment rate. In other words, AI has already started working instead of people, firing them from their jobs, which means people are likely to become jobless in the future. Secondly, this change can cause a lazy lifestyle to whom used to do laundry, wash dishes and clean the house without any help of robots. These chores are nowadays being dependent on gadgets, making people inactive which may lead some people to be obese in the long run. Therefore, the consequences we get from robots are greater.

To conclude, in my view, increasing the number of jobless people and obesity rate are worse compared to having more leisure time and high levels of job accuracy.