Today different types of robots are developed which are good friends to us and help us both at home and work. Is this a positive or negative development?

The prevalence of robots both at home and in the workplaces has drawn much debate recently. While some maintain that this development can negatively affect humans considering the concomitant rising unemployment rate, I strongly believe that robots can serve as companions for those in need.

On the one hand, many people argue that the development of robots is a negative one as the use of robots can create economic problems if they replace human jobs. Whether we like it or not, a large number of low-skilled jobs are being taken by cutting-edge robotics systems in numerous factories around the world, specifically the jobs in office administration, logistics, and transport. As a consequence, many workers are made redundant and this, in turn, resulted in a rise in reported crimes including robbery, burglary or vandalism.

On the other hand, I hold the viewpoint that robots will do wonders for benefit people as they help us at home and work. It is indisputable that cloud-connected home robots are already becoming part of our lives. For instance , we can set up the vacuum cleaner to do the chores for us as well as schedule a warm home-cooked meal to be ready by the time we finish with work. These kinds of robots facilitate our lives, save us time and they could also be heart-warming friends, who can conduct thoughtful conversation and make us no longer feel lonely. In terms of work, robots have a profound effect on the workplace. They are capable of taking on multiple roles in an organization and confronting a multitude of difficult missions that we, as a human, may not have an ability to handle. To exemplify, Vietnam has adopted a fully automated process in the nuclear or chemical industries as these working environments are unsafe for humans.

In brief, while robots, for some people, represent a threat to their employment, I firmly believe that they make our lives much easier in terms of doing house chores and dangerous work.