Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The powerful impact of advertising on unnecessary consumer demands has been receiving a great deal of public attention. From my perspective, I totally agree with this statement

There are a handful of reasons why advertising could boost sales even though they are not real needs of people. First, since products always appear with glossy images, consumers are tempted to buy these products. In fact, these images are colorful with well-designed looks, which triggers people’ desire to owing it. Second, by running promotion campaigns, manufacturers or businesses would create a buying-craze. This means that many frequent promotion events such as buy one get one and discount up to 80% could prompt customers to buy more goods without consideration

Furthermore, the power of advertising has a strong impact on making people buy products constantly in some way. Firstly, in order to attract people to buy more items, businesses implement advertising strategy with celebrity endorsement. For example, Nike opted Cristiano Ronaldo for the brand ambassador of their sneaker items, or Taylor Swift was the representative of Coca Cola, which entices a huge number of fans to purchase these items due to their idols rather than actual demands. Secondly, if adverts are displayed on social media in people’ leisure time, consumers tend to buy commodities with an aim to relax. Plenty of evidence suggests that many well-known brands such as Zara and H&M invest a large amount of money in broadcasting their advertisements at lunch time or at night, which immerses people into shopping to get a sense of relaxation

In conclusion, with the convincing argument mentioned above, advertising has a strong effect on increasing sales of consumer products although they are not the actual needs of the community. By creating a multitude of promotion events, customers are easily paid attention to buy more goods which are not necessary.