Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this modern world, advertising is becoming one of the most effective means to introduce new products, goods and service to the society. Every organization want to spend more on advertising to get new recognition of their service and goods and want to attract more consumers to get new trade mark for their business. However, some experts claim that, more advertising is becoming the powerful medium to influence the consumers and diverting their needs which may not be real. I partially agree in this statement, this essay will examine the arguments on both favor and against on given topic.

To begin with, not only on some countries but in the whole world, advertising is becoming more influential to sell their product, they are able to read the people’s changing perception and their increasing desire and target the every level of people by their marketing strategy. They are investing huge amount on famous faces and celebrity only to play some minutes role on their advertising. For example, every people want to follow the step of their idle person and look like same, hence, consumers believe more and pay for the same product to be same if it is not even necessary to them. Moreover, especially famous celebrity are used in clothing brand and beauty product to look beautiful , because women give concern more on their beauty. Furthermore, many advertise reflect the positive side of the product and ignore their side effect, which can mislead the consumers to buy the products. However, consumers are also becoming less rational, they make decision on spending luxuries life and to show off to the society, which lead them to buy more unnecessary things without comparing their side effect.

Secondly, people are having more busy life than before, they do not have more time to visit market. Some groups of consumers are fully depend on marketing and advertising of goods and services. So, by the advertisement they know about the new product and services and can compare their features. Another, merit of having more advertisement is, company become more focused on quality and price to compete in the market, which helps to get the quality product in reasonable price, however, it also make the consumers more rational, so they cannot mislead the consumers.

In conclusion, advertising is becoming moiré powerful and necessities to provide information of different product and services. There are both advantage and disadvantage of having more advertisement , but consumers has to become more rational to select their needed items.