Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that today consumers may find themselves bombarded with a barrage of advertisements from businesses trying to promote their products to the general public. Although this advertising to some extent has an impact on sales, I believe that we also do need most of the items that we buy.

Admittedly, the allure of vivid graphics and imageries often found in adverts may sway customers to purchase the products being promoted, even when they have no real need for them. This is reinforced by celebrity endorsements, which have a dramatic influence on people wanting to imitate their idols. For example, the adverts of mobile phones which feature prominent pop stars can be found everywhere on social media feeds or on many websites in Vietnam. People who have excessive exposure to commercials may trigger impulse buying. As a result, they cannot resist the urge to replace their phone with the latest models and waste money on a product that would be of little value to them.

However, I believed that most people do not buy products because of advertising alone. There are other good reasons why they make these choices and there must be some kinds of need before a person makes a purchase. With respect to the former, the new versions of products almost always have improved features that meet the requirements of customers. To illustrate, a new car may be more economical to run, pollute less, or have upgraded safety features. In addition, advertising just acts as a tool to keep informed consumers about newly- launched products and various items when they need to buy some kind of goods, which helps people have more choices about their beloved products.

In conclusion, even though advertisements may influence consumer buying behavior, people would not make decisions that go against their real needs.