Today large shopping centers and supermarkets are more common than small local shops. Is this a negative or positive development?

Nowadays, It is true that big shopping centers and supermarkets are more common compared to small local shops. While there might be some drawbacks, I would argue that this phenomenon has far more benefits.

On the one hand, this trend seems detrimental simply because the increasing presence of shopping centers and supermarkets could have a negative impact on children's spending habitats. For example, most children who go to shopping centers are addicted to luxury brands, such as Nike and Channel. As a result, they are more likely to pay more money for clothes, which may lead them into financial difficulties.

In spite of the arguments, I believe that benefits are more significant for the following reasons. Firstly, building more shopping centers and supermarkets provides people with recreational activities. To illustrate, Vietnamese people often take their children to game centers and cinemas in shopping centers to relax at the weekend. Hence, it may improve the social life of local people and make the city to become livable. Another reason is that The higher number of shopping centers and supermarkets creates more job opportunities for local communities. For instance, shopping centers and supermarkets always employ full-time as well as part-time employees. Thus, large shopping centers and supermarkets may improve the living standards of people and boost local economic development.

In conclusion, although I recognize the possible negative effects of the discussed trend, it seems to me that it is a negative development overall