Today more and more people are using mobile phones and computers. Thus, people are losing the ability to communicate face to face. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Today mobile phones and computers are becoming indispensable to many people. While I agree that the application of high – tech devices in communication is beneficial in some ways, I believe that people’s ability to interact directly with one another seems to be degraded.

On the one hand, mobile phones and computers benefit communication to some extent. Firstly, using these devices could be much of convenience. The emergence of phones and the internet allows people to easily make a call to someone who lives far away while the time budget is not enough for them to pay a visit. This may be helpful in maintaining strong relationships with relatives or foreign friends. Secondly, a great deal of time and money could be saved by utilizing phones and computers. For instance, due to the availability of the internet and the technology of video conferencing, many business meetings and could be held without the presence of participants in the actual holding places. Consequently, the travelling time to those places and the amount money that could have been used for hosting attendants are certainly spared.

On the other hand, there are some reasons why the increasing use of mobile phones and computers discourages real interaction. One reason is that many individuals are spending so much time using those technologically leading – edge gadgets that they rarely communicate with others, and from time to time, they may forget how to contact to people in the real world. Furthermore, there are many articles on the internet and dialogues in games containing words that are inappropriate for real-life interaction. If silver surfers and gamers interact with those contents too often via mobile phones and computers, their verbal communication skills will deteriorate quickly.

In conclusion, it is true that mobile phones and computers have revolutionized the way people interact, but a downfall of communication is being experienced due to the overuse of these devices.