Today more and more people are using mobile phones and computers. Thus, people are losing the ability to communicate face to face. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that people are losing the ability to communicate face to face and mobile phones and computers must take a large share of the blame for this. I completely agree with this idea.

There are some reasons why computers have to take responsibility for the decline of people’s communication skills. Firstly, although people can easily make new friends via the Internet, they do not really know about the virtual ones. This will let people be under illusions about their acquaintances in the virtual world. Secondly, there are many criminals using false identities to find out information about us. This could not happen with face to face communication. For example, a pedophile may pretend to be a teenager to arrange a meeting with a vulnerable young person via a social network page.

Apart from the practical disadvantages of computers expressed above, I believe that using mobile phones also reduces our skills in terms of personal communication. The first reason is that, because of extreme focusing on cell phones or computers, people no longer want to spend time with their true friends and their families. For example, mealtimes when all the family used to get together are becoming a thing of the past. The youngsters are often to be found having a snack in their rooms while texting or chatting online. In addition, by using cell phones for a long time, people can lose their confidence when they have to talk in front of crowds. My close friend, for instance, is so addicted to chatting and playing games on her smart phone that she becomes shy and afraid of doing presentations in lessons.

In conclusion, it seems to me that the usage of mobile phones and computers can negatively affect the communication skills of people.