Today’s society provides people with various ways to lose weight, such as special diets or exercise regimes. Many people believe though that poor food and today’s lifestyle should be addressed first. What is your opinion.

It is true that obesity has nowadays been one of the most serious global issues, thus people are seeking different ways to mitigate it. Although special diets or training programs are undeniably good for your health and fitness, I personally believe that only by changing our current unhealthy lifestyle can we tackle the problem permanently.

Admittedly, a well-designed eating plan and regular exercise are beneficial to one’s weight loss process. It has been proven that people who follow special fitness programs can lose weight by, for instance, applying the calorie deficit mechanism. They can try various dietary plans like keto or low-carb which helps lowering their calorie intake, then do fat-burning exercises to raise their calorie expenditure. If done properly with instructions from professionals, these plans can have positive effects on one’s health and fitness condition.

However, in my opinion, applying the above regimes can just be a temporary solution. There are cases when people turn back to their sedentary lifestyle and overeat after reaching their weight goals, which certainly destroys their effort and worsens their health. Therefore, changing our way of living in advance is tackling the root of the problem. We can do that by, for example, learning to cook using fresh ingredients that contain lower amounts of chemicals, preservatives and calories than processed or fast food, or setting a fixed workout schedule with a little reward after each session or each week, such as a cheat day. This would help us stay motivated to gradually change our sedentary, instant-food lifestyle into a healthier one, which not only leads to successful weight loss but also long-term fitness maintenance.

In conclusion, I believe it’s better for people to learn to lead a healthy and active lifestyle than to apply short-term methods in order to lose weight and maintain good health.