In education and employment, some people work harder than others. Why do some people work harder? Is it always a good thing to work hard?

It is true that there are people who are more diligent in their study and work compared with other members in society. While I acknowledge the benefits one can reap from being hardworking, I believe the drawbacks outweigh the advantages.

There are certain key reasons for working and studying hard. First, by putting strenuous effort on their work, they are gradually getting closer to their goals. For example, a worker who always meet his deadlines would be more likely to get promoted to high positions than the ones who do not. Moreover, people who persevere and strive hard for success can take pride in themselves for always trying their best and making the most out of their lives. Finally, there are people who are very passionate about their work. They are doing it simply because they enjoy the process and the interesting experiences they have while working.

However, the shortcomings of constant hard work are far more serious. The primary disadvantage is that it may negatively affect people’s health. Working extra shifts or studying late at night, they all have adverse impact on health, not to mention the pressure that heavy workloads put on people could cause them mental issues like stress and anxiety. In addition, people who are immersed in work all the time cannot maintain a work-life balance. They do not have the time needed to care about their relationships and even themselves, therefore, they live a lonely and tedious life. Clearly, there is no point pushing ourselves too hard if we could worsen our health, our relationships and our lives.

To sum up, working hard is advantageous as it helps us realize our dreams and fulfill our desires, however, these cannot make up for our health, time and happiness. In my view, it is best to set boundaries on our workload and manage our tasks efficiently, so that we can be productive and in the same time, well-being.