Studies have suggested that children watch much more television than they did in the past and spend less time on active or creative things.What are the reasons and what measures should be taken to reduce the time children spend on watching TV and encourage children to spend more time on active or creative things?

In recent years, the problem of children get addicted to TV instead of spending much more time doing meaningful or creative things has been receiving a great deal of public attention. Although, this trend can be attributed to a whole host of reasons. Some feasible solutions can be considered to address this.

There are a number of reasons to explain why kids show a tendency to spend time watching TV rather than creative activities. First, Since TV programs have been growing in number as well as quality, which evoke the curiosity of children. In fact, telecasts provide attractive and new contents at the disposal, children tend to binge-watch most of the time. Second, by doing work and earning money constantly to meet the standard of living, parents pay less attention to their own infants. This means that children have no many choices in taking part in outdoor activities, either joining clubs or having a talk with fathers and mothers. Therefore, kids often are reliant on watching Tv for mental rewards.

Measures should be taken in order to reduce the time children use to watch TV. Parents’ guidance and encouragement are essential since they are closest to their own children. For example, in order to reduce time-consuming of watching Tv, they restrict the amount of time allowed for watching TV or resort to drastic measures such as corporal punishments if needed. Also of great importance is that they should spare more time playing with and encouraging their kids to take part in creative activities. If highly encouraged and motivated, children are expected to engage in those useful works and be accustomed to doing creative and effective activities, no matter how difficult or complex those works or activities are.

In conclusion, there are vast reasons of children’s propensity for adopting a passive habit of watching TV more than ever before. To eradicate this phenomenon, children must be motivated, guided and encouraged by their own parents.