The top priority of businesses is making money, and they do not need to have social responsibilities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

One school of thought holds that businesses' top priority needs to be making a profit, and they do not need to be concerned about their social obligations. While I accept that this idea is somewhat justifiable, I believe that, apart from generating profits, businesses also need to have responsibilities to society.

On the one hand, the effort to maximize the profits of companies is so crucial and could be beneficial to society as a whole. Firstly, organizations can only have public responsibilities if they are making money. This is because there are other expenditures to cover, such as wages, operational costs, or even costs to innovate in order to make more profit; if they could not pay the bills and survive, any concern about philanthropic actions becomes irrelevant. Secondly, by maximizing profits, organizations could expand their businesses. For instance, if the firm wants to grow, it would demand more departments or a new factory, which could create job opportunities for the community, thereby allowing people, especially the underprivileged to stand a greater chance of having an occupation and making a living.

On the other hand, there are a host of compelling reasons as to why I am convinced that organizations should also contribute to society and have responsibilities with it. The first reason is that enterprises’ activities could harm the environment. For example, if the production processes do not have proper supervision, this could give rise to adverse environmental degradation, namely water contamination and air pollution. Another reason is that firms could use a proportion of their profits to make positive contributions to the community. This is because using money to support charities, environmental projects, or educational initiatives could not only help less fortunate people, and create a cleaner environment but can also boost the company’s image and reputation.

In conclusion, while I agree with the fact that money plays a decisive role in business, I would contend that businesses should be more concerned about their social responsibility.