Topic 30/6/19: Air travel is causing some problems for the environment; therefore, we should increase the price to discourage people. Others disagree that this is the solution. Discuss both views and give your own opinions.

It is undeniable that traveling by air generates a huge amount of emission which damages the environment severely. Therefore, some people suggest that an increase in the price of flight tickets will hinder people from flying while others believe there are more to this. This essay will discuss both opinions and express my own.

Travelling by airplanes is increasingly common thanks to the unique experience and the convenience of travelling far distances. Nevertheless, not all can afford this means of transportation in the first place so increasing the costs will probably be effective. It could direct passengers to more reasonable travelling alternatives, such as cars, buses and coaches. Especially with domestic trips, or international ones with water bodies in between countries, people can make a saving while protecting the environment. For example, from Vietnam, it is not necessary to fly and people can reach Laos just by bus.

However, there are still other note-worthy solutions to take when air travel is absolutely needed. Airlines are not the only agencies that offer flights but wealthy businessmen and celebrities can use private aircrafts and choppers to travel more quickly, which pollutes the atmosphere to a great extent. Thus, these journeys should be banned or limited and commercial flights with business class can be offered for more comfort instead of economy class. Additionally, the governments, in active cooperation with travel companies, could manufacture airplanes utilizing more ecofriendly energy sources. As a result, the detrimental impacts made by air travel on the environment might be greatly reduced. For example, solar energy is a stable source that can be harnessed to power airplanes.

To sum up, raising the price of air travel is likely to discourage people from this option; yet, this is not always convenient and feasible, so other measures should also be taken to decrease the emission from planes.