Topic: Nowadays, some employers think that formal academic qualifications are more important than life experience or personal qualities when they look for new employees. Why is it the case? Do you agree/ disagree with this view.

Recently, some recruiters give more value to a college or university degree than personal skills and experiences. This is because degrees are the most reliable evidence to prove the knowledge and professional skills or candidates, however, I think that personal talent and work experience are more important factors to consider because they play a key role in the success of an employee.

The main reason why some companies prefer to employ students who graduated from well-known universities is that these students likely have a better background and professional skills than those who completed their degrees in other institutions. Undergraduates and graduates can obtain a comprehensive education program in high ranking universities, so that they are, of course, the best candidates for the labor market. For example, students of the University of Waterloo have been trained both in theoretical knowledge and practical skills by emerging into a co-op program which helps them to gain real working experience in Canadian firms. Therefore, they will adapt quickly to the working environment in most companies if they are employed.

Nevertheless, academic qualifications from top universities or colleges can not fully guarantee the success of employees because a good degree is only one essential condition to be successful in life. A student with a great academic result might not be a great staff due to the lack of creativity, self-control or determination. By contrast, students who graduated from an ordinary college will be top employees if they have super personal talents and great working experiences. The University of Toronto reported that only 20% of CEOs in the big Canadian firms graduated from the top 10 universities in Canada, the remains came from other educational institutions that are less well-known.

In conclusion, although academic qualifications are the first requirement of many employers, personal skills and work experience should be key points to select future employees because these talents and skills will assist them in performing better in their careers.