Topic: Some universities offer online courses as an alternative to classes delivered on campus. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In this day and age, according to the enhancement in cutting-edge technology, distance learning via an online platform is provided for learners as an optimal method to replace traditional classrooms at various colleges. From my own perspective, some detrimental points of this tendency will be eclipsed by its numerous merits.

On the one hand, learning remotely without regular face-to-face contact with tutors in the classroom is adverse in two aspects. First and foremost, online students are unable to develop holistically in the same manner that students who attend school classes do. During the online courses, students can hardly make friends or compete with their classmates in online classes. It is needless to say that such online learning classes seem to underestimate the importance of interaction and competitiveness amongst peers in education, which are powerful stimuli for academic achievement. Furthermore, participants in online learning programs have a proclivity/tendency for postponement and poor time management to finish assignments. This type of learning imposes a requirement for a high level of self-discipline, organization, and time management skills. As a result, students often struggle to balance their studies with other responsibilities and get easily discouraged if they do not receive direct guidance from instructors.

On the other hand, although traditional institutions have been still largely regarded as the greatest method to broaden students’ horizons and reinforce their various fields of knowledge, online learning has proven to be an ideal alternative option in the educational system because of its tremendous advantages. To begin with, learners have access to an immense amount of materials from a traditional course that empowers/allows them to freely choose from a wide range of disciplines/subjects like science, economics, and so on. Moreover, decreased prices and the widespread availability of the Internet enable a limitless number of individuals to participate, regardless of their financial status or present location.

Taking everything into consideration, although there are certain disadvantages of online courses, it seems to me that a variety of above their benefits is innovative in today's higher education systems.