Tourism is considered a main source of income of many nations in the world. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not managed correctly. Describe the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world. Do you think that benefits of tourism outweight its drawbacks?

In the developing world, tourism is regarded as an important foundation of profits of many countries. Conversely, tourism may bring shortcoming if it is not handled appropriately. I believe that this issue brings more benefits than its drawbacks.

The greatest advantage is that tourism provides income to help countries develop in many aspects. To illustrate, tourism raises people’s awareness about culture throughout the world and also helps to preserve the traditions and society. Money gained from tourism can be used to improve the infrastructure and facilities in nations. Furthermore, tourism creates employment for people as well. It is one of the most popular major that students follow to study in these days. From that point, many countries can build up and improve relations among them by several ways such as organizing some cooperation programs for students to have chances to study abroad.

On the contrary, this issue may bring about some disadvantages if we do not deal with it properly.

One of the negative impacts of tourism is damaging to the environment. More litter are left on the streets, more pollution are caused from the congestion, some tourist attractions are being downgraded. To take for instance some modern cities like Cape Town in South Africa, it has more than thousands tourists a month. However, some places in this city that visitors do not prefer to be there because the occurence of criminality is considerably high.

In conclusion, the income of tourism provides both pros and cons. Nevertheless, the government of nations had better manage carefully and appropriately so that they can develop and improve their countries completely.