Traffic jam has become increasingly problematic in big cities. What are the causes and solutions to them?

In recent years, a serious problem that metropolitan cities face has been traffic congestion. From my perspective, there could be several reasons for this pressing concern and this essay will suggest some feasible solutions to tackle the problem.

There are two major causes that give room for traffic jams to develop in large cities. The first cause of traffic congestion is an increase in population. Since a large number of people have migrated to settle in urban areas like New York, Beijing for instance, an excessive number of residents commute in cities every day. As a consequence, roads and streets are often overcrowded, which, combined with insufficient infrastructure could result in heavy traffic jams, especially in peak hours. The second reason is that nowadays most citizens prefer using private vehicles such as cars to public transportation like buses or trams. This trend is due to the convenience of time-saving and flexibility. Therefore, an upsurge in population and the use of private means of transportation are the main contributors to traffic jams in big cities.

However, several actions could be taken to address this issue. To begin with, the government should spend more money on upgrading the public transport system as well as the infrastructure of transportation. With the transport system improved, city dwellers would be encouraged to travel by bus or tram instead of private means. Since the number of vehicles on the roads is reduced, it would help ease traffic congestion. Another practical measure is to impose heavy taxes on the excessive use of individual transport. This can help to discourage people from travelling in private vehicles and raise more money for improving public transport.

In conclusion, an upsurge in population, insufficient infrastructure for transportation, and people's preference for private vehicles are the main contributors to the serious issue of traffic jams. Nevertheless, some measures can be taken to deal with the problems regarding improvement to the public transport system and infrastructure, and imposition of taxes on the excessive use of private vehicles.